Aside

I’m not dead yet

12 Dec

Yikes, I’ve been bad. It’s been a long time – a really long time – since I’ve posted anything. In my defense, the hand injury from the dog was worse than I had originally anticipated, and typing has been, and still is, very painful. The fourth finger of my left hand was really damaged, and it hurts to bend it at all. At some point, I may need to see a hand surgeon. But we’re not there yet, and so I’m thankful for that.

Another reason for my silence is that I wasn’t quite sure what to say. Everytime I would start to think of a post, I would get nervous that it wasn’t funny, or interesting, or compelling. And so I wouldn’t write anything at all.

So here’s the brief highlights of what’s been going on:

October: Halloween: Danny was Iron Man. Benny was a hot dog. We hardly got any trick or treaters, and we *still* have leftover candy. Danny said it was the best Halloween ever.

November: Austin! We went to Austin, Texas for the Formula One race. I didn’t think I would enjoy it as much as I did, I was very surprised at how fun it was. The event was very well organized, and it was exciting to watch the races. We also had a great time doing things in and around Austin, hanging out with friends, eating some really really good Tex Mex, and, of course, hearing live music. I definitely want to go back next year.

November: Thanksgiving: So much food. So much fun. Me and my sister and our boys with my parents at my aunt’s house with my cousin. The little kids played, the big boys watched football, and I ate all the sweet potatoes I could get my hands on.

November: Danny’s Birthday. Danny’s birthday fell on a Saturday this year, right after Thanksgiving. I decided to have a party for his friends at our house. Most years, we have a hard time getting kids from school to come, since it’s Thanksgiving weekend, so we invited his whole class. You know what happened, right? They ALL came. We had 24 kids in my house. It was chaotic, but fun. Thankfully my friends helped out to keep it running smoothly. Best of all, my husband was so grateful that I did such a great job that he let me go to bed early with a glass of wine and a Hitchcock movie while he cleaned up. A rousing success, I’d say.

December: While putting up our fake Christmas tree, one of the branches fell out and poked me in the eye, scratching my cornea. So that was a fun few days, though sadly, no eyepatch. I did manage to put the outside Christmas decorations up by climbing out on the roof with no injuries, which is pretty impressive.

So now we’re getting ready for the holidays, shopping and wrapping and stressing. There’s a lot of stuff going on, and I think these next few weeks are going to be really hard. Doesn’t help that I feel like I’m surrounded by babies, in the news, on facebook, everywhere. I haven’t decided what to do next about it, and I’m not going to seriously think about it until after the holidays, but it’s weighing on the back of my mind.

So, in summary, Danny is great, life is hard, and I’ll try to update more often. Hopefully something funny will happen soon.

One Response to “I’m not dead yet”

  1. moodymommi December 29, 2012 at 9:02 pm #

    Just WRITE!!! This is about you and your journey, us observers are just here for the ride 😀

Leave a Reply

